Bring The Rain

The last CD I bought was actually two CD’s by the same band at Winter Jam.  They were both by Mercy Me which is a band I haven’t exactly followed much.  Both are Gospel/Religious.  I havn’t had time to listen to all the songs on both of the CD’s so I will talk about the CD I have listened to most.  That would be Coming Up To Breathe.  I always find they title of albums interesting and I find myself thinking about why they called it that.  I guess often it is from one of the more popular songs on the album but I like to think that the title portrays a common theme throughout the album.  I hate to say that I couldn’t really find that theme I was looking for in this album.  The songs approach a broad range of topics and so it would be hard to group them all in one category.

One thing I do like about this album is the worship songs.  Some Christian bands don’t have many worship songs, which I enjoy more than any othere kind of Christian music.  The difference I am pointing out primarily has to do with the audience.  In worship music the audience is God.  The song is directed towards him and could almost be considered a prayer.  Other Christian songs may simply be about God rather than to Him.  While I like these also, they could never be as enjoyable as a worship song.

Bring the Rain is possibly my favorite song on this album.  It is a worship song that talks about many of the topics in my Christian walk that I have been thinking on, specifically the struggles that come in our life and how by the grace of God the struggles actually are to be used for His glory.  I love this because often I don’t know how to put my thoughts into words and these songs do it in a brilliant way.  My favorite line, “And I know they’ll be days when this life brings me pain, but if that is what it takes to praise you, Jesus bring the rain,” gives me chills every time I sing it.  It speaks so much and is such a bold proclamation to Christ, and it is one I long to make.

One thing I look for when I am searching for Christian artists to listen to is that anointing that only comes from Christ.  I just recently heard Mercy Me in concert and I can say that that anointing is there with this band.  The Spirit of God can be felt with many of the songs and this very important to me when I choose songs to praise my God.

Published in: on March 5, 2008 at 4:57 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://marvelous005.wordpress.com/2008/03/05/bring-the-rain/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I like how you differentiated worship songs from songs about God. That is very interesting. I wonder how many people actually think about it.

    I also like your thoughts on the significance of an album title. Like you, I kind of assume that the title will have something to do with the album as a whole. There are always times I find an album title lacking or wonder what the heck it has to do with all of the songs on it. I wonder how much thought they actually put into it, or if the album title is generally a last minute thing.


Leave a comment